Ode to My Anger

English: Angry cat

I broke my laptop last night in a fit of anger. It’s not the first thing I’ve broken. Back in the olden days I broke a typewriter while in the middle of writing a report. I broke a hair dryer once (I suppose for being a hair dryer). Then there was the time I punched a hole in the wall. OK, that was more than once.

The Hole in the Wall

I’ve got anger issues. Journaling has helped (why is journaling considered a typo). Learning to talk about it helps. Working on a lot of projects can help. Exercise, sports, martial arts, and Yoga are good ways to channel the anger.

English: Boxing match in Bangkok,Thailand. htt...

They say anger occurs when you feel like you’re not getting what you want.

English: A hungry baby yelling and crying.


Sometimes my anger turns into rage. Eckhart Tolle calls it the pain-body. That’s an apt description.

English: Head-shot of Eckhart Tolle from direc...

It’s like everything I’ve ever been angry about starts spilling out in a fit of rage. The rage is often fueled by depression, like a quasar with a black hole at its center releasing massive amounts of energy. It’s not a pretty sight (anger, not quasars).English: This artist’s impression shows how UL...

Anger can possess me and not let go like a dog gnawing on a bone. Being mindful helps.

Golden dog 2

I observe the angry energy coursing through my body. I sense the anger coiled up in my head, chest, stomach, and limbs.

Stars (M. C. Escher)

Sometimes it has to come out and I yell, scream, kick, and throw things around. It’s ugly and I feel possessed.

Pazuzu (The Exorcist)

Eventually the anger wears off. The dragon goes back to sleep. I feel tired and spent. I apologize for being angry.

English: Dragon on Perran Sands Looks like thi...

Everything feels better.

Original 'Smiley' logo (actually most often ca...

Until the next time.

The Terminator (soundtrack)

image credits:

Angry Tiger by Guyon Morée Wikimedia Commons
The Hole in the Wall Wikimedia Commons
Muay Thai Wikimedia Commons
Crying Baby by Dave Buchwald Wikimedia Commons
Eckhart Tolle by Kyle Hoobin Wikimedia Commons
Livernois Wikimedia Commons
Escher Stars Wikimedia Commons

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

