How To (Not) Ride a Bike

Incorrect Position by Michael Neubert, on Flickr

Sometimes we make things harder than they need to be. We get on our bikes and head down the road, only to find the ride more difficult than we’d imagined. Speaking of which…

{insert swirly flashback effect here}

When I was younger, my friends and I decided to go for a bike ride around our neighborhood. It had been several years since I’d ridden a bike, but you know what they say about never forgetting. I didn’t even own a bike, so I was given one of my friend’s spare ones to ride. All of us were soon pedaling away.

The bike ride started out well enough. I was having flashbacks of when I was (even) younger (whoa, is this a flashback within a flashback?). I prided myself on being athletic and competitive, so when I noticed myself lagging behind that made me pedal even harder. This went on for a while, my friends merrily enjoying their bike ride ahead of me, while I furiously pedaled to keep up.

When we finally stopped at an intersection, my friends were figuring out where to go next, but my legs felt like they were going to fall off. It wasn’t until one of them pointed out that I had a flat tire did it occur to me to look back. I did, in fact, have a flat tire.

{insert wavy flashforward effect here}

I’ll leave it up to you to figure out the moral of the story. Needless to say, once I aired up the tire I was able to enjoy the bike ride so much more.

* * * * *

Thanks for reading, and remember to make today a better day!

~ST

image credits: Incorrect Position by Michael Neubert, on Flickr
Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

One thought on “How To (Not) Ride a Bike”

Leave a Reply

