Letting Go of Control

One of the things I’ve been thinking about a lot these days is letting go of control. Letting go of control is a habit I’ve developed over the years. I won’t go into the details of why I felt the need to always be in control, at least not in this particular article, but I’ve realized it’s become counter-productive.

Fear

At the heart of my need to be in control is fear. I’m afraid of what will happen if I’m not in control of the situation. Ironically, the fear of what could happen doesn’t just include the bad things that could happen, but also the good things that could happen. So for me, letting go of control is an act of courage, and courage is essentially an act of faith.

Ego

Will there ever be a time when I don’t need to mention the ego? Control, or at least the illusion of control, is often about having power and influence over things which I don’t actually have power or influence over, like other people, for example. Control can be a way of manipulating people, and by extension, life. Unfortunately, life can’t be completely controlled, cheated, or finagled, and a sense of false power ultimately results in fear. Fear results in insecurities, which leads to the need to be in control.

Confidence

Confidence comes from certainty. Confidence isn’t the result of ego. Confidence is knowing the truth, what can and can’t be controlled. When I admit that I mostly don’t know what I think I know, I end up being smarter.

* * * * *

Writing this article has been an act of letting go of control, which is like saying it’s an act of faith. I put the results of what I do in the hands of the universe, which is like saying in the hands of God. I can control my best effort, and this was my best effort. I no longer feel the need to over-compensate, or seek the approval of others. I can now enjoy the beauty and creativity of life.

Thanks for reading. Let’s make today a better day!

~ST

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

2 thoughts on “Letting Go of Control”

Leave a Reply

