Navigating through the Fog

Today, I find myself in the odd place of feeling like I had more clarity in my 20’s than in my 30’s. Has life thrown up a smokescreen, or has it just thrown up? Also, a note about semantics at the end of the article.

How do you contribute your best to people without people pleasing?

Self-improvement, self-expression, and the Self itself is a balancing act. Sometimes the balance between what we give and take is thrown out of whack. Nature has its own way of balancing things. Your body tells you when you’re over or under extending yourself. Over-utilizing leads to stress, and under-utilizing leads to stress, too.

The key is to have eustress, the good kind of stress. Think of eustress like incrementally lifting heavier weights. Even with weightlifting, there’s a point of diminishing returns. Finding the sweet spot where you stress yourself just enough, then recovering and growing stronger, is what you need to master.

What does that have to do with people pleasing? I think trying to please people is a source of unnecessary stress. However, making a real contribution to people’s lives, using the gifts you have in the best way you know how, is a source of the good kind of stress.

Are you accepting reality?

Even fantasy is grounded in some kind of reality. That soupy world of imagination is waiting for a spark of creativity to jumpstart its evolution, the spark of creativity that’s within you. Wherever you happen to find yourself today is a great place to start.

Maybe it’s a good idea to listen and accept more. Integrate and appreciate, rather than consume, consume, and expel, ad nauseum. Engage all of your senses, even the sixth one, and navigate your way through the fog.

Arguing Semantics with the Grammar Nazi

I’ve been flipflopping between using I, we, and you in the GBM articles for a while. Oftentimes I like to use myself, other times I enjoy using you, and sometimes we just need to use ourselves.

These articles help me as much as they help other people (if not more). In a way I’m talking to myself when I’m talking to you, which, I believe, is how the minds of all mad geniuses work.

I also have a rule that if Nazis are brought up in conversation, then it’s the end of the conversation, so on that note…

Thanks for reading. Let’s make today a better day.

~ST

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

