Daily Bread

Have I mentioned that money is tight around here? Living below the poverty line does wonders for your creativity. It may seem strange that despite financial challenges, I’m happier than I’ve ever been.

A life lesson that keeps showing up for me is to take things one step at a time. One moment, one breath, one thought, one day. I’m learning to appreciate what I have, and the result is a deep sense of joy. Knowing who you are, what you’re about, what’s important to you, overcoming challenges, is worth all the money in the world.

This wouldn’t be Getting Better, Man if I didn’t have plans to get better. I spent the last several years on self-improvement, which meant I was betting on myself. I’ve had my share of mistakes, setbacks, false starts, and trip ups, all of which could be called failures if I had given up, but I didn’t. That’s not to say I don’t owe a lot to other people, because I do.

So how did I get my daily bread? I sold my collection of Dungeons & Dragons books, and a bunch of DVDs, stuff I’d been carrying around for years. I got enough money to buy not only bread, but some other things as well. The lesson I learned was to appreciate the day, that today offers opportunities to grow and get better. I also learned that I’m a different person than I used to be. It’s okay to let go of attachments to the past.

Make today your masterpiece.

~ ST

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

4 thoughts on “Daily Bread”

  1. Thank you. This is a beautiful post and you’ve been doing for years exactly what I’ve just started to try and do. It’s very inspiring. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

