A Sunday Review

I want to thank the people who have been following my self-improvement efforts, and have given me encouragement in one way or another, whether it’s through comments, likes, subscriptions, or good ol’ friendship, love, and support in “real life”.

Sunday is a great day to review the current and upcoming week. I like to use Sundays to think big. As you can see in my GoodReads currently reading list, I’m studying several self-improvement books. When received attentively and with an open mind, knowledge from different sources can gestalt into a bigger picture.

According to my beginner’s research into the Enneagram, I’m a type four, the romantic and artist type. I learned that the point of the Enneagram isn’t to use it to label ourselves or as an excuse to act out our dysfunctions. It’s meant to increase our awareness of our personality, fixations, and ego. I find that it goes well with nonduality teachings, in the way it helps identify the ego as a construct and structure.

My personal development started from a self-centered perspective. During my self-improvement journey, there were times I felt victimized and sorry for myself. Self-pity and self-doubt can be poisonous, but still need to be faced honestly and openly. Through facing my true feelings — positive, negative, happy, unhappy, or otherwise — I was able to move from reaction to response. My new way of dealing with things is to discern truth from falsehood, reality from fantasy.

I’ll continue to use my powers of discernment, which I think will lead to a more natural, creative, pure, and spontaneous way of life. I don’t need all the baggage carried by a fragile ego. I’ve learned that my ego is just that, my ego. I can put myself to good, constructive use.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

