Getting Better at Failing

The Pendleton Sinking
The Pendleton Sinking

Being that GBM is, for the most part, a self-improvement blog, I’ve written my fair share of articles on being great, succeeding, living to your full potential, and other motivating, enthusiasm inducing, and hopeful topics, but an important and rather sobering part of self-improvement is how well we deal with our mistakes, defeats, and yes, even that most dreaded of dreadful things, failure.

It seems to me that the greater the reward we’re after, the greater the cost of failure will be, so it would benefit anyone who wishes to be great to learn all they can about dealing with the inevitable failures that occur in life, or setbacks, if failure is too harsh of a word for one’s ego.

When I look back at my life, I see that I’ve failed more than I’ve succeeded, but I’ve made up for my failures by continually getting better. Thing is, I continue to fail, so the journey goes on.

Sometimes getting better is admitting, and more importantly, accepting that we’re defeated. Success can grow out of anything, including defeat. Maybe especially after defeat, because we can learn from our mistakes.

It’s this process of continuously getting better and improving that adds up to greatness. There’s always room for improvement, always more that we can do, so in that respect we’re continuously failing to live up to our full potential. That may sound disheartening, but paradoxically, it frees us from worrying about failing. Notice that I’m not saying there isn’t such a thing as failing, but that ‘worrying about failing’ is a fruitless endeavour.

Being paralyzed by the fear of failing is in itself a kind of failure.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

