Spiralling Upwards

SpiralThere’s a curious thing that happens, something I’ve noticed over and over again, a creative u-turn, if you will, that occurs when things are going well for me.

When I find myself doing the things I need to do to succeed, like writing, painting, and loving, I get harassed by little gremlins of negativity that feels like self-doubt, self-pity, and self-criticism. These gremlins pick away at my peace of mind, and if ignored, can grow into an even bigger problem. They sap at my willpower little by little like ANTs, but I’ve learned to be more mindful and find my calm center.

It seems like life really is about what you focus on, and it also seems to be less about what you do, and more about how and why you do it.

Making a creative u-turn is natural. While it’s good to keep going forward, the journey is an upward spiral, so it’s necessary to circle back, each time from a different perspective.

If you do something from the heart, in the spirit of being true to yourself, whether it’s following your dreams, facing your fears, or doing the best you can with what you’ve got, you’re not guaranteed money, fame, or success, but you do get something that can’t be bought, taken away, or lost, and that’s love, integrity, and a connection to your true power.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

