On a Lark

Song_of_the_Lark_Winslow_Homer_1876I find my Emotional States of Being embroiled in an uncivil war.

My feelings have become a spectator sport, and I’m in the thick of it.

Damming up emotions means you had better be good at building dams, otherwise…KABLOOIE!

I’ve no more control over my emotions than I do the weather. However, I can control what I do with my emotions.

If one were to notice the behavior of puppies, kittens, and babies, one would see that we are all naturally born with certain temperaments and dispositions.

As I see it, self-improvement involves accepting who we are, and accepting reality as it is, and somewhere along the way, at the intersection of self+life, perhaps we’ll catch a glimpse of truth.

From a clear (ad)vantage point, we see the work that must be done, which must feel like our work, and not someone else’s.

Making peace with our emotions is like making peace in general, it’s about r-e-s-p-e-c-t.

Emotions are as infinite as the universe.

Doing the best I can with what I’ve got (and getting better, man).

~ GBM

image credit:
Song of the Lark by Winslow Homer via Wikimedia
Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

