Becoming (a healthy adult)

I’m doing 15 minute mindfulness meditations every day, and it’s made a positive difference in my mood, state of mind, and sleep. Although I realize it’s good for me, it’s still something I need to be “mindful” of doing. Becoming a healthy adult can be challenging, but I know I can do it, and it’s/I’m worth it.

My current fascination is schema therapy, because it describes so much of what I’m going through. I consciously made the decision to improve myself about 10 years ago, and despite my determination I see that I had to grow into a healthy adult before I could maturely handle some of my longstanding problems. In hindsight, I showed quite a bit of moxy’n’grit.

Becoming a healthy adult is a relief after all these years of being oppressed by fear, guilt, and shame. I finally feel like I’m at home in my own self. Even though there’s lots of clutter and cleaning up to do, I can accept that it’s my mess.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

