The Anti-deodorizer

Sisyphus

I’ve been contemplating all day on what poignant topic I could write about, but nooo…

Somehow it’s always the littlest and simplest things that bring us back down to earth, like the Sisyphusian task of trying to get the smell of cat pee out of the carpet.

It doesn’t matter how many self-improvement projects I work on, or how much progress I make toward my goals, this particular problem always pushes my button–a button that’s located in my nose. I’ve developed a Wolverine-like sensitivity to the tiniest particle of cat pee odor, and it’s enough to trigger a primal reaction that leads to a kind of tragic-comical rage that says everything and nothing about the human condition.

This has been going on for years–no matter where I move to–and it only takes one incident for the carpet to become an anti-deodorizer.

Perhaps I’m fulfilling a karmic obligation to my cat, or maybe it’s another case of practicing patience. In spite of this, I still think she’s one of the best things in my life.

The cat pee must have driven me insane.

image credit: Wikimedia
Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

