Love (Is What We Want)

sunset-clouds

I’m realizing that in order for me to have what I want, I need to love it. That seems obvious, but sometimes we can let things get in the way of being loving.

I think there’s a misconception that in order to get what we want, or get to where we want to be, we must go through a certain amount of what we don’t want. This seems like a pervasive belief that I’ve found to be false. I actually don’t believe that we must go through unwanted things in order to have what we want, unless we think we have to.

We don’t have to wage war in order to have peace, and we don’t have to suffer in order to grow. A person who lives a simple and happy life is just as great and noble as someone who is ambitious.

The only things that truly matter in human life is love and wisdom, because without these things life has no meaning. We can be in love with wisdom, and that in itself will take us to where we need to be.

It’s funny because I’m realizing how much I’ve struggled against the very things I’ve loved. I’ve analyzed, belittled, critiqued, deconstructed, evaluated, fault-founded, gnashed-teeth, hated, introspected, judged, and killed (at least tried to) that which I hold dear, like myself, for instance.

But you know, the human spirit can’t be extinguished no matter what we may do in our misguided ways. Self-expression isn’t ours to control; it just is. Loving what you want begins with loving yourself, because what we truly want is our Self.

There’s real power to be had and experienced when we align with our True Self. When we place our loyalty in unconditional love, the world, the universe, and all of life begins to speak to us in every moment.

~ GBM

image credits: Pixabay
Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

