The Big Question

trees-looking-up

I’m not sure what the most important question in life is, but this one must be in the top three, and for me it’s the most important:

Who am I?

I can guarantee that if you sincerely ask this question – meaning you really want to know the answer – your life will be changed forever. I see it as the master key that unlocks the door to everything.

A few years ago, I went for a walk and – surrounded by nature – looked all around me and asked, “Who am I?”

On the one hand, I was annoyed that I wasn’t more certain about who I was at the time, and on the other, I was genuinely curious to see what would happen.

The leaves rustled, the branches creaked and scraped against each other, and there was a brisk autumnal breeze. I felt chills run through my body, and my hairs stood on end. I’m not sure exactly what happened, but I knew that something did happen. God didn’t start talking to me from the clouds, yet I got a sense of my place in all of creation. I didn’t feel bigger or smaller than anything. I felt like I was just right.

Of course, my physical environment and life situation was the way it was. I went on the walk in the first place as a way of dealing with some difficult mood swings I was having, and that didn’t disappear overnight, but I can tell you that my life has changed in a big way.

When you ask “Who am I”, something stirs within you. The universe hears your question, and like the inevitable birth of a star, there will come a day when fusion will occur between who you thought you were, and who you really are.

No one can tell you who you really are, because it’s not an intellectual exercise. It’s like having sex for the first time. You can talk about it all you want, but until you do it, you don’t really know what it’s like.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

