Defining Your Reality

Here’s a powerful technique you can use to define your reality. I just used it to achieve some peace and quiet from the upstairs neighbors. I said, “In my reality, there’s only peace, quiet, and harmony.” Lo and behold, the neighbors (who had visitors over) left almost immediately after that.

Now, you can’t go against your own beliefs when you make your statement. For example, I was able to be OK with my neighbors stomping around for a while. I turned on some music, became mindful, worked on a painting, etc. I told myself that it was more about the way the apartment was built, and not about the people upstairs, who weren’t purposefully trying to disturb me.

I also told myself that from this experience, my desire was to live in a peaceful and quiet home, and that my neighbors would be considerate and conscientious about being quieter. I had the urge to go upstairs and tell them to be quiet, or complain about it in some way, which I’m free to do, of course, but I wanted to state my intention first, and see if my reality would shape itself to my desire.

Like I said, they left soon after, so I didn’t have to take action after all. There’s nothing wrong with taking action, but if it’s done out of anger and frustration it only results in more of the same. If I were in a state of calmness and peace, then took action, that would be better, but I didn’t even have to do that.

How do you know if you’re going against your own (often limiting) beliefs? It will feel bad when you make your statement of intention. You’ll feel afraid or angry. If you believe in what you’re saying, it will feel good, and you’ll feel confident and empowered.

Here are some more examples:

“In my reality, I am calm, cool, and confident. The people in my reality are considerate and nice to be around. My reality is a beautiful place to live. In my reality, I am loved, and there are lots of things for me to appreciate.”

See how it feels when you’re making your statements. It should feel good and strong, and if it doesn’t, or you have doubts, then change your words so that you believe in what you’re saying.

If you don’t believe that you’re a confident person, you might say, “I want to feel confident. I want to be a confident person.” If that’s true, and it feels good for you to say that, pretty soon your reality will conform to your desire. Then you can redefine your reality once again.

These aren’t affirmations. They’re definitions you’re giving to the universe so that your reality actualizes around you according to your beliefs (it’s happening anyway, whether you do it consciously or not). This is what you expect to happen, and whatever doesn’t fit your definition of reality will not be a part of it.

I’m very excited about this discovery, and I’m going to play around with it some more.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

