On Momentum (and Adjusting Your Dial)

I took my own advice from the latest GBM podcast, and took a nap, because I’ve been feeling resistance lately, and it’s been tiring me out. I know that I have strong desires, and if limiting beliefs are active, it’s not a fun ride. After waking up from a nap, I have the opportunity to activate beliefs that are aligned with my True Self.

It’s interesting how limiting or negative beliefs can go viral, like zombies. I’ve been having self-critical thoughts about different things, and these thoughts attract other thoughts that add to the momentum; guilt, blame, helplessness, etc. When it gets too much, I just take a nap, or go to sleep, knowing that when I wake up, the negative momentum is reset. The important thing to remember is that when you wake up, make sure you catch the negative momentum quickly, so that it doesn’t pick up right where you left it. That’s why rumination can be deadly to a good mood.

When I woke up from my nap just now, I wasn’t sure what positive thing I could focus on, which illustrates the power of momentum, because I know I have many positive things to appreciate, but the energy of the negative momentum makes it difficult to focus on the positive. That’s where the power of setting an intention comes in. I said, “I want to find the easiest positive thing for me to appreciate right now”, and thoughts began to show up, such as having coffee, writing, listening to Abraham.

Most of the positive thoughts were swept up in the negative momentum, but listening to Abraham was something that stuck. As I did that, I heard a helpful and humorous analogy about adjusting your own vibrational dial, rather than trying to adjust other people’s dials. I realized my dial was set to victimization, and literally adjusted an imaginary dial on my chest to empowerment, and I’m happy to say that it worked.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

