Arrogance vs Humility

It’s the second night at our new place, and we’re settling in quite nicely. Things are getting better, man. I set up my computer and felt inspired to paint. It’s artwork for a fantasy story I’ve been working on.

After painting for a while, I thought the art looked amazing, which made me think about arrogance vs humility. The more talent you have, the more tempting it is to make it about yourself, which smacks of arrogance. I think the better way is to put the talent to good use – meaning for the greatest good you can think of – which I consider humility.

I think arrogance is making it about yourself, while humility is making it about the work. Humility is also the realization that the work is never done, and learning (and growing, and changing) never stops.

It’s not about what you do, it’s about why (and how) you do it. If it’s done for the love of the work itself, then it’s in accord with the flow of the universe, and the universe is a perfect example of the power of non-arrogance aka humility.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

