Building Emotional Muscles

It’s a simple thing for me to sit down and write this, yet the magic is in the simplicity. I’m building emotional muscles, and it’s not so different than bodybuilding. Inner strength isn’t about not having any anxiety at all, but rather being strong enough within ourself that anxiety becomes kind of fun, like lifting weights.

I have new found emotional freedom, and I’m not certain what it will lead to, but I know that it feels good. Sometimes I worry about what someone else might be thinking about me, but that doesn’t feel good, and I let go of those thoughts as best as I can. It’s interesting to be so worry-less. I’m essentially the same person, minus that particular trait. It served its purpose for a time.

It’s a tricky thing; letting go of beliefs. Old beliefs are old because they’ve become a part of us. For example, anxiety exists because of certain beliefs, but being anxious about anxiety is the core belief that keeps it alive. It’s embedded in the DNA of the personality. To let go of a core belief feels a bit like some part of me is dying, but I remind myself that it’s the old belief that’s going away, and what’s left is the real me.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

5 thoughts on “Building Emotional Muscles”

  1. Sometimes I feel so strongly attached to the worrysome side of me, that I fear losing it will be losing such a large part of myself. Who am I without the worry? I’m probably more confident, more assertive, ETC. Even if left with the real you, are you not a little worried about meeting the real you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean. The worrysome side is part of our persona, which is the version of us we’ve spent years creating in order to present a certain image of ourselves to the world. Some of us lost – or handed over – our childlike innocence at an early age through creating a persona. I think letting go of the persona “security blanket” (in whatever way works for us) is how we can regain that childlike innocence, and we’re able to appreciate it even more. There may be disapproval and even heartbreak involved in being our true selves, but I don’t see how we can be truly happy otherwise, and if we’re not truly happy ourselves, how can we share it with others?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This gave me a new interesting way to think about anxiety although I’m still chewing on what it means exactly to exercise emotional muscles for making anxiety fun. Could you talk about that more please?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for asking! What I mean is that there’s the physical condition of anxiety, nervousness, etc. which may always be there for some of us because of genetics, life experiences, and whatnot. Then there’s the personality aspect (thoughts and emotions concerning the anxiety) which is what I’m referring to as “emotional muscles”, and that can be exercised using various techniques. For example, you need a compelling enough reason to want to lift weights, because after all, you’re defying gravity by lifting chunks of iron. It would be easier to just leave it lying there. In my (not so perfect) analogy, anxiety is a force of nature, like gravity. You need to find a good reason to work with it. Some people – including myself at one time – want to completely eradicate anxiety, but it’s energy and energy can’t be destroyed. I think it’s better to work with it. Just like there are many ways of exercising our bodies, there are many ways of working with anxiety. For me, it’s “fun” (sometimes) in the sense that I see the anxiety as an aspect of my personality, a part of my whole self, and it helps me to exercise my emotional muscles of allowing, letting go, relaxing, being calm, and loving unconditionally (these are also emotions and types of energy). In other words, I see it as a spiritual and transcendental practice, and like any other kind of exercise, at first it may be uncomfortable and leave you tired and sore, but if you have a good reason to do it (such as wanting to improve yourself), it can be fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

