Making the Best of It

It’s been a week since we moved into the new apartment. The weekends can sometimes be the worst, because I’m around my mom and stepdad more than the weekdays. Today has been irritating, but I know it’s up to me to make the best of it.

It really irritates me when my mom kisses up to my stepdad (or me, or anyone else, for that matter). It’s gross and makes me physically ill. My level of respect for this man is already at the bare minimum. I won’t go into details about my mom’s passive aggressive stunts, or my stepdad’s epic laziness.

It seems like my mom is with this guy for emotionally needy reasons, because I don’t think he’s good for her, but I respect their relationship, and I appreciate their assistance.

He’s decided to start using the bathroom right next to my bedroom, although he has a bathroom inside his own bedroom (which I don’t use, of course). That kind of thing gets on my nerves, and he does a lot of things like that. I don’t know if he thinks it’s good, or he doesn’t care, or he’s a moron, but in any case, I want to have very little to do with him.

I considered this little corner of the apartment my personal space, and I liked the idea of having my own bathroom, but the fact that I feel the need to bite my tongue about it shows me how much power I really have in this situation. I could say something, but I think the path of least resistance would be to suck it up for now and find my own place as soon as I can.

The funny thing is, I know they don’t mean to do anything bad, especially toward me. I know that they care about me, and it’s my own attitude that makes me perceive things a certain way. I can see the good in the situation, mostly.

A part of me still wants to be rescued, still wants mommy and daddy to be happy, but I know that I’m a grown man. I’m a powerful creator, not a victim of circumstance. I don’t need to confront my mom or stepdad about everything that bothers me, although I’m glad that I’ve done it when I felt the need to. I can love my mom and respect my stepdad without betraying my personal integrity.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

