(Not) Abandoning the Fear of Abandonment

I dozed off for a bit, and had a dream about my ex-girlfriend. We were going to see some kind of show, and when we got there, the people at the door said we had to wait. I sat down at a bench, and noticed that my girlfriend (we were still together in the dream) was gone. I woke up soon after, and my heart was racing. I felt a deep sense of loss and loneliness, which I now realize is the fear of abandonment. I immediately thought about the love I have for my ex-girlfriend, how I want the best for her, and how much I appreciate the both of us. That made me feel a lot better.

I’m making a commitment to not abandon the fear of abandonment. I choose to embrace and stay with it. I know that this fear is at the heart of the need for approval from others. As I take responsibility for the fear, I no longer seek approval from others. I can be there for myself.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

