(Not) Arguing for Limitations

Have you ever argued for your limitations; blaming, complaining, giving excuses and justifying why you’re doing something, or why something is (or isn’t) happening the way it is? I know that I have, and continue to do so, and it can be exasperating. It seems like 80% of the thoughts that cross my mind are limiting beliefs, and they want me to argue for them. The thing about beliefs is that they seem real, otherwise they wouldn’t be beliefs.

Once you reach a certain point, it’s probably better to drop most of your beliefs – or preconceived notions – and look at the world through your own eyes, rather than through filters. Long held beliefs can turn into prejudices, biases, fears, limitations, and excuses, all of which weigh you down and distort your perception of reality. That’s one good thing about a shake-up in life; it makes all of the false premises come tumbling down.

I’m aware of and accept (and allow) that the process of letting go of limiting beliefs, or no longer arguing for my limitations, is a gradual, day to day practice. I realize that my mind can have a tendency to focus on the reasons why something won’t work, or can’t be that way, and I know that this is resistance to my personal power. I remind myself that anything is possible.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

2 thoughts on “(Not) Arguing for Limitations”

  1. Hi GBM! I love your posts. Its brief, ordinary yet extraordinary,simple yet sophisticated. I too tried making excuses for my natural human failings but after learning a lesson from one of my favourite Catholic Saints. St. Therese of liseux in her book the story of a soul : she finally learnt that she can never be perfect. I mean this is a saint! Anyways, I am no longer a devout Catholic I still apply some of her teachings. You may not be catholic but please find this book and read it. Just pick the lessons you need for your journey. My second help was a quote from eckhart tolle; “Give up defining yourself – to yourself or to others. You won’t die. You will come to life. And don’t be concerned with how others define you. When they define you, they are limiting themselves, so it’s their problem. Whenever you interact with people, don’t be there primarily as a function or a role, but as the field of conscious Presence. You can only lose something that you have, but you cannot lose something that you are.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

