Refining Myself

Self-improvement is a continual process, and it’s a process of purification and refinement. The insight I have this morning is that everything I think in regards to my environment is a projection of unconscious parts of my psyche, and these projections are like raw material for me to refine myself. Things that I find irritating about other people, or conditions that I don’t like, can be thought of as psychic energy that can be harnessed toward self-improvement.

Everything is the self, for all intents and purposes. I’m experiencing things as myself, after all. I can only imagine what it’s like to experience things from another point of view, but ultimately this is my point of view. Unconscious material is continually being refined into consciousness. There are levels and degrees of unconsciousness and consciousness; it’s a spectrum. You could say that the more negative our thoughts and emotions, the more unconscious we are, but at the same time, the more fuel we have to become conscious.

How do these concepts play out in day to day life? This is my understanding: everything we perceive activates what we call “thoughts”, and every thought has a value attached to it, which we call “emotions.” To the degree that we react to these thoughts and emotions, we are unconscious. To the degree that we are able to choose among these thoughts and emotions, we are conscious. Consciousness, then, is the ability to know the difference between who you are and your projections.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

