Starting the Week (Mom, Dad, and Life)

Yesterday, I hung out with my dad for a bit, and it was fun. If you’ll recall, I took on the challenge of cleaning his shop, and last week, I did some hardcore cleaning. In fact, it took me a while to recover from it. Since then, I’m glad that he didn’t revert completely back to his old ways. It was tolerable, and I just threw out some trash. His buddy showed up, and I have funny tales about that dude, but maybe I’ll share them another time. Both of them gave me some tips and tricks for playing the guitar, so that was cool.

I woke up today, or rather, my mom woke me up, which was an early sign of annoyance, but I think the annoyance factor probably started earlier. Her being annoying to me is just an outward manifestation of my annoyance with myself. I feel frustrated by my Work/Vocation Life Area right now, but I want to focus on what’s working.

Sometimes, when I focus on what I don’t like, that feels bad, of course, but then I know that the things I’ve experienced and learned are things that I truly want to be experiencing and learning, so it’s all part of the process. For example, within every person I interact with, there are things I like and don’t like about them, and I can choose to focus on the things I like, and leave the rest.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

