Being a Man (and Having Integrity)

Self-improvement is more than just learning a bunch of concepts; it’s about living life to the fullest, and being true to yourself, which is to say, being who you are. When my ex-girlfriend broke up with me, I knew it wouldn’t be difficult for her to find another man to be with. A beautiful and intelligent woman has that kind of power. It made me think about why she decided to be with me in the first place, why she broke up with me, and what kind of power did I – as a man – have?

There are different kinds of power that a man can have: money, prestige, status, physical strength. There are also intangible powers like inner strength, integrity, principles, wits, charm, and passion that I believe are just as important, if not more so. Self-improvement is about developing these powers, and I’ve dedicated myself to doing that.

I see that my greatest strength in regards to being a man – and having my ex break up with me (and seeing her with another man) – is that I lived by my values and principles while being with her, and I continue to do so without her. I’m definitely not a stick-in-the-mud kinda guy, or a goody-goody, but I have personal integrity. A man is nothing without his integrity.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

