Playing Roles and Wearing Masks

I’ve learned that I can have different personae – roles that I play, and masks that I wear – and still be true to myself. The key is to be in tune with what feels good to me, and in that way, I’ll always be aligned with my True Self.

When you do what genuinely feels good to you, you’ll always be on your path. If you’re used to playing a role (identifying with your persona), what genuinely feels good to you may not be apparent, because you’ve used other people’s criteria to determine what you should be doing.

We use our persona as psychological clothing, like the way we clothe our bodies. We’re the ones who decide what’s appropriate or inappropriate, and it’s usually up to the non-conformists to lead the way. Society is meant to be stable, so it will never change as quickly as the individual.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

