Following Your Bliss and Individuating

Steam

Most of us probably know Joseph Campbell’s famous quote to “follow your bliss” – and I believe in doing that – but I would modify it to say “allow yourself to follow your bliss, and allow others to follow their bliss.”

Bliss is defined as: joy, happiness, pleasure, delight, ecstasy, elation, rapture, euphoria, grace.

I’m finally at a point where I can say to someone (or myself) that I’m doing something because I feel like it – and mean it – or if I don’t do something, I can say that the reason is because I felt like doing something else instead.

Jung described the process of individuation as:

In general, it is the process by which individual beings are formed and differentiated; in particular, it is the development of the psychological individual as a being distinct from the general, collective psychology. The aim of individuation is nothing less than to divest the self of the false wrappings of the persona on the one hand, and of the suggestive power of primordial images on the other.

For me, the experience of individuating has been something like discovering that the Earth is round, or that it orbits the Sun, or that there are billions of galaxies in the universe. It’s a paradigm shift, to say the least.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

