Being Alive and Free

20160119-012121.jpg

I think some people have an image of self-reliance as being able to support yourself financially, and even though that’s part of it, I think of self-reliance as being able to support yourself in all areas of life. This means living a spiritual life in the fullest sense of the word. There’s no one and nothing to fall back on.

I’ve noticed rules people use to make themselves or others behave in certain ways, and these rules are like excuses to be who we truly are. I’m already happy, minus all of the requirements I supposedly need to be happy. It’s strange that this seems strange, although it’s actually very natural.

I used to feel anxious around people, and judged how well I did in order to figure out if I’d succeeded socially. Now I’m able to allow others to be who they are, and allow myself to be who I truly am. Living this way has no rules, only a keen awareness of being alive and free.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

