Being a (Natural) Leader

There’s the kind of leadership that comes about because you have something that someone wants (like money, power, or resources), and there’s the kind of leadership that occurs because you have character, you live your life a certain way, and people naturally want to follow you. I’d rather follow a natural leader, someone who’s not trying to lead, but leads nonetheless. People who want to lead others for their own ego gratification are distasteful to me.

Leading is also following. It’s a circular relationship in which you’re a leader and a follower at the same time. Effective leadership benefits everyone in the best way possible.

My primary concern is personal leadership, but that naturally extends toward my relationship with the people and world around me. I’m not trying to be a leader, but I have leading edge ideas which I feel compelled to follow. Natural born leaders follow their ideas and principles, and people follow their example, not because they have to, but because it makes sense.

~ GBM

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

Leave a Reply

