Being Moral vs Moralistic


There’s a difference between being a moral person and a moralistic one. Being moral means I live by what I consider to be good or right; I follow my moral compass. I’d rather do that than be moralistic, which is expecting others to do what I consider good or right (and often being self-righteous about it).

There’s not enough time in the day – or this lifetime – to convince anyone of anything, I’ve realized. I’m still discovering who I am, let alone figuring out who anyone else is. I believe in treating others the way I’d like to be treated – and that’s my choice – but that doesn’t prevent disagreements from happening.

I’m in love with my life, and that means accepting my relationship to life on a deep and intimate level. This includes the social environment in which we live, but socializing isn’t the end-all-be-all.

The answers are within ourselves.

G.B.M.

Published by

Sedone

Artist | Writer | Musician

One thought on “Being Moral vs Moralistic”

Leave a Reply

